Opinion & Featured Articles

Treasure Hunt at Local Book Fair

Book fair

Merry Christmas and a very happy new year in advance.

During this time of the year, we have a local book fair hosted in my part of the city. This is a kind of warm up to the International Kolkata Book Fair (world’s largest non-trade book fair). Bought myself a few bookish presents 🙂

Okay, here’s the lot:

Great Cases of Interpol by Reader’s Digest Association

A top notch collection of real life cases with photos and illustrations. “Not to be read in a single sitting” as my favorite editorial duo Mr Wagner and Mr Wise often suggests for anthologies. Too generous a ration of crime may defeat its intended purpose.

Great Cases of Interpol by Reader's Digest Association

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

Okay, I admit I haven’t read it.  It has become a bedtime partner since yesterday and seems like a modern Dickensian work. Bought it for what would be about $2.00 in US currency. Can’t stop congratulating myself. The deal itself was worth the delay. Dash it, it wasn’t.

strange

Reader’s Digest Illustrated Story of World War II

Being a history buff, I am rather happy that I bought this one. Definitely not for scholars and provides just an overview of WW II, but makes an interesting presentation with lots of rare pictures.

world war 2

A Natural History of Ghosts: 500 Years of Hunting for Proofby Roger Clarke
That’s my favorite subject again. Not just a piece of fiction but some real life facts on a creepy topic. Not sure how this would turn out, I have not read any non-fiction work on the supernatural. Keeping my fingers crossed.

a natural history of ghosts by roger clarke

The Jungle by Upton Sinclair and Under Western Eyes by Joseph Conrad

Any bookish party is incomplete without vintage, fragile penguins. So here they are. Haven’t read them, but they are already my favorites.

So what do you think of the lot? What have you bought this Christmas?

penguin

 

8 thoughts on “Treasure Hunt at Local Book Fair

  1. Belated Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. That’s a nice mix of books you have there, I need to read some more Conrad, Heart of Darkness put me off with its slowness but I should persevere.

    I picked up some Marquez, Hegel, Kierkegaard, Christopher Hitchens and Stanislaw Lem to ensure I have a fascinating year also.

    • Thank you. Merry Christmas and a very happy New Year. Yes, Conrad’s works indeed move at a slow pace, which reminds of Sartre. Had to read one of Conrad’s stories in school and wasn’t too happy about it but decided to give him another try.

      Marquez is fantastic. Lem’s Solaris is on my books-to-buy list for a long time. Since I am a hardcore science-fiction / fantasy buff, I think it would be a great read.

      Hope you have a nice bookish year ahead.

  2. Solaris is the only Lem book I’ve read and I loved it, such a visual story. I’m not that savvy on the sci-fi literature front usually only reading Arthur C. Clarke and a smattering of other books but this Solaris certainly piqued my interest.

Leave a Reply

